Important point about – Reserve bank of India

Your ads will be inserted here by

Easy Plugin for AdSense.

Please go to the plugin admin page to
Paste your ad code OR
Suppress this ad slot.

Banking Awareness study material – Reserve bank of India:


Important Point for Reserve bank of India:

  1. What is the name of Central bank of India – Reserve bank of India(RBI)
  2. RBI was established on April 1, 1935 with under RBI act 1934
  3. Reserve bank of India was set up on the recommendation of the Hilton Young Commission.
  4. Total Number of Central bank of India –only one
  5. The Hilton Young Commission agreed its report in 1926.
  6. Reserve bank of India was constructed as with fully paid-up Capital of Rs.5 Cr.
  7. Reserve bank of India was nationalized in year of 1949.
  8. RBI is not Include Commercial bank.
  9.  Headquarter of RBI was at Calcutta now moved in Mumbai after 1937.
  10. There are total 26 regional office of RBI
  11. Sir Osborne Smith was first governor of Reserve bank of India.
  12. CD deshmukh was the first Indian governor of RBI (1943-1949)
  13. Name of the RBI governor which was also prime minister of India – Dr. Manmohan Singh
  14. Name of the first female governor of Reserve bank of India –KJ Udeshi
  15. Reserve bank of India (RBI) is the statuary body.
  16. The RBI governor is also known as Executive head.
  17. The RBI governor is associated by four deputy governor
  18. Reserve bank of India (RB) is also member bank of Asian Clearing Union
  19. RBI is also member of IMF
  20. RBI is solely authority in India which is responsible for creating notes for all domination.
  21. Emblem of RBI-Panther and palm Tree
  22. RBI can print 17 languages in Bank Notes.

Here we are giving List of RBI Governor:

List of RBI Governor –(1934-2013):

Name of the Governor Time period
1.Sir Osborne Smith 1935-1937
2.Sir james Braid Taylor 1937-1943
3.C.D.Dishmukh 1943-1949
4.Sir Benegal Rama Rau 1949-1957
6.H.V.R.Iyengar 1957-1962
7.P.C.Bhattachraya 1962-1967
8.L.K.jha 1967-1970
10.S.Jagannathan 1970-1975
11.N.C.Sein Gupta  
12. K.R.Puri 1975-1977
13.M.Narishman 1977-1982
15.Dr.Manmohan Singh 1982-1985
17.R.N.Malothra 1985-1990
18.S.Venkitaramanan 1990-1992
19.Dr.C.Rangarajan 1992-1997
20. Dr.Bimal jalan 1997-2003
21.Dr.Y.V.reddy 2003-2008
22.Dr.D.Subbarao 2008-2013
23.Dr.Raghuram G.Rajan 2013-till now

List of female Governor of RBI:

Name of the female Deputy governor Time period
K J Udeshi 2003-2005
Shyamala Gopinath 2004-2009 and 2009-2011
Smt Usha Thoart 2005-2010